NEWS UPDATES

World Free Zones Organization held its annual Board of Directors meeting in Geneva

January 13, 2022- World Free Zones Organization (World FZO), a global not-for-profit organization, held its annual Board of Directors meeting and a “Multilateral Lateral Organizations Tour” at Geneva, Switzerland, as part of its expansion and leadership growth strategies. The meeting was attended by representatives from World Trade Organization (WTO), United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), International Road Transport Union (IRU), International Organisation of Employers (IOE), and International Labor Organization (ILO). Representatives from the World FZO were led by Dr. Mohammed Al Zarooni, Chairman and included José Contreras (Vice chairman, Dominican Republic), Emeka Ene (Secretary, Nigeria) and Martin Ibarra (Advisor to the board, Colombia).

During the meeting, the Board of Directors discussed areas for international integration and cooperation to enable global free zones enhance their economic strengths, highlight their important role in the global trade and supply chains, as well as overcoming challenges and creating opportunities for growth and prosperity in their commercial and labor markets. Further, the taskforce will enable the World FZO to integrate the UN SDGs in all new and existing free zones and will extend its scope to companies managing fleet of vehicles moving across borders.

Dr. Mohammed Al Zarooni, Chairman of the World FZO, said: “Free zones across the globe play key roles in stimulating and reviving global trade and ensuring its sustainable investment flows. This has a direct impact on national economies such as providing job opportunities where free zones globally provide more than 80 million jobs. We believe that integration and cooperation with international organizations will double those opportunities, which will have a positive impact that benefits all parties. We also seek to enhance the security amid illicit trade practices through following the highest international standards by members and with implementing the best practices that are approved and shared by our organization.”

The transport and movement of goods across borders experienced disruptions brought about by the COVID-19 pandemic. A report by the WTO shows a 10 to 20 per cent decline in the value of world trade of goods and services in 2020 due to the pandemic. This further magnified the relevance of the nearly 4,000 free zones across the globe as accelerators of trade and economic growth.

With this, the taskforce with WTO will seek to re-build supply capacity, manage trade restrictions and promote digitalization in supply chains. In addition, it will highlight the significance of investments in logistics and expand trade finance to strengthen contribution to economy recovery. There is also a need to strengthen global value chain that caters to key sectors such as agriculture and food processing, pharmaceutical, information and communications technology, as well as health.

The World FZO also aims to advance its sustainability goals in line with the UN SDGs, hence, the taskforce with UNCTAD will leverage the Izdihar Index to encourage free zones to adopt eco-friendly and sustainable practices as well as to ensure a safe and secure work environment for employees to increase productivity, improve performance, ethics, morale, health and welfare. In addition, it will capacitate employees with technical knowledge and digital skills through the Digital Zone Certification Program, which is aimed at boosting business digital operations.

The Izdihar Index, which means prosperity in Arabic, is the main instrument of the Free Zone of the Future (FZF) Program launched by the World FZO as a tool that offers methods to identify areas of weakness within operational structure and measure peak performance.

In addition, the taskforce with ILO and IOE will help companies in reskilling and upskilling their workforce through different programs such as Online Management Diploma, Small, Medium, Enterprise Educational Program (SMEEP), and others.

Meanwhile, the World FZO will extend its reach to the International Road Transport Union (IRU) in a bid to assist its goal of promoting sustainability in its fleet of vehicles. Through the planned taskforce, transport and logistic companies crossing borders will adhere to Izdihar for a green and safe mobility, in line with the UN SDGs.

Commenting on the success of the meeting, José Contreras said: “There are many points discussed today and I look forward to seeing these results as we serve the needs of our stakeholders and partners. We will continue to work with other organizations to further give our members unrivalled access to world-class experience, network, services as well as in ensuring that they contribute to the development of the host countries.”

For years, the World Free Zones Organization has been working with various organizations and other stakeholders to develop solutions, legislations, and tools for free zones around the world, and ensure the protection of international trade from illicit activities.

RELATED NEWS

Subscribe to our newsletter

Don't miss new updates on your email
Menu
Business setup in Dubai airport free zone
×

المنظمة العالمية للمناطق الحرة تعقد اجتماع مجلس إدارتها في جنيف

12 يناير 2022: عقدت المنظمة العالمية للمناطق الحرة برئاسة سعادة الدكتور محمد الزرعوني، رئيس المنظمة، الاجتماع السنوي لمجلس إدارة المنظمة في مدينة جنيف السويسرية، إلى جانب جولة ميدانية شملت عدداً من المنظمات العالمية، وذلك بما ينسجم مع مساعيها الرامية لتحقيق مستهدفاتها الاستراتيجية للنمو والتوسع.

وتضمنت قائمة المشاركين في الاجتماع، ممثلو منظمة التجارة العالمية، ومؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتجارة والتنمية (الأونكتاد)، والاتحاد الدولي للنقل البري، والمنظمة الدولية لأصحاب العمل، ومنظمة العمل الدولية، إضافة إلى الوفد الممثل للمنظمة العالمية للمناطق الحرة والذي ضمّ كُلّاً من خوسيه كونتريراس (نائب رئيس مجلس الإدارة، من جمهورية الدومينيكان)، وإميكا إيني (أمين المنظمة، من نيجيريا)، ومارتن إبارا (مستشار مجلس الإدارة، من كولومبيا).

وناقش مجلس الإدارة جوانب التكامل والتعاون الدولي مع المنظمات المشاركة بهدف تمكين المناطق الحرة العالمية من تعزيز مكامن قوتها الاقتصادية، وتأكيد دورها المحوري في إنعاش وتحريك سلاسل التجارة والتوريد العالمية، إضافة إلى تخطي التحديات وصناعتها لفرص النمو والازدهار للأسواق التجارية وأسواق العمل. كما تضمن جدول أعمال الاجتماع محور إدراج أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة في جميع المناطق الحرة القائمة والجديدة، فضلاً عن تعزيز نطاقها ليشمل الشركات التي تُدير أساطيل المركبات المتنقلة عبر الحدود.

وبهذا الصدد، قال سعادة الدكتور محمد الزرعوني، رئيس المنظمة العالمية للمناطق الحرة: “تؤدي المناطق الحرة في جميع أنحاء العالم دوراً محورياً في تحريك وانتعاش حركة التجارة العالمية، وضمان تدفقات استثماراتها واستدامتها، الأمر الذي ينعكس أثره مباشرةً على الاقتصادات الوطنية مثل توفير فرص العمل، حيث تقوم المناطق الحرة عالمياً بتوفير أكثر من 80 مليون وظيفة. نؤمن بأن التكامل والتعاون مع المنظمات العالمية سيعمل على مضاعفة تلك الفرص، وامتداد آثاره الإيجابية بما ينصب في مصلحة جميع الأطراف. ومن جانب آخر، نسعى تعزيز مستويات الأمن والحد من انتشار الممارسات التجارية غير المشروعة عبر ضمان امتثال المناطق الحرة العضوة لأعلى المعايير الدولية، وأفضل الممارسات المعتمدة والتي تقوم المنظمة بحصرها ومشاركتها مع أعضائها”.

وواجهت حركة نقل البضائع عبر الحدود الكثير من التحديات جرّاء الصعوبات التي فرضتها الجائحة. ويُظهر تقرير صادر عن منظمة التجارة العالمية بأنّ قيمة التداول التجاري للبضائع والخدمات في عام 2020 انخفضت ما بين 10-20% بسبب أزمة كوفيد-19، مما عزّز من أهمية دور ما يقرب من 4 آلاف منطقة حرة موزعة حول العالم بوصفها محركات لتسريع الأنشطة التجارية والنمو الاقتصادي.

ومن هذا المُنطلق، تهدف فرقة العمل بالتعاون مع منظمة التجارة العالمية على إعادة بناء قدرات التوريد والتعامل مع القيود المفروضة على التجارة والترويج لمفهوم التحويل الرقمي لسلاسل التوريد، كما تُسلط الضوء على أهمية الاستثمارات في الخدمات اللوجستية وتعزيز تمويل الأنشطة التجارية بهدف الارتقاء بمستوى المساهمة في التعافي الاقتصادي. وتبرز الحاجة لتقوية سلاسل القيمة العالمية التي تُلبي احتياجات القطاعات الرئيسية، مثل الزراعة وصناعة الأغذية والأدوية، والمعلومات وتكنولوجيا الاتصالات والصحة.

ومن ناحية ثانية، تهدف المنظمة العالمية للمناطق الحرة إلى تحقيق أهدافها في مجال الاستدامة بما ينسجم مع أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة، حيث ستعمل فرقة العمل بالتعاون مع منظمة أونتكاد للاستفادة من مؤشر ازدهار لتشجيع المناطق الحرة على اعتماد الممارسات المستدامة والصديقة للبيئة، فضلاً عن ضمان توفير بيئة عمل آمنة وسليمة للموظفين من أجل زيادة الإنتاجية وتعزيز مستويات الأداء والأخلاقيات، والمعنويات والصحة والرفاهية. كما ستتولى فرقة العمل مهمة تأهيل قدرات الموظفين من حيث المعارف التقنية والمهارات الرقمية، وذلك من خلال برنامج شهادات المناطق الرقمية الذي يهدف إلى تعزيز العمليات التجارية الرقمية.

ويُعد مؤشر ازدهار أهم أدوات برنامج المناطق الحرة المستقبلية، الذي أطلقته المنظمة العالمية للمناطق الحرة للمساعدة في توفير السُبل المتاحة لتحديد مواطن الضعف ضمن البنية التشغيلية وقياس ذروة الأداء.

وإلى جانب ذلك، تتعاون فرقة العمل مع كُلّ من منظمة العمل الدولية والمنظمة الدولية لأصحاب العمل لمساعدة الشركات على إعادة تأهيل قواها العاملة وصقل مهاراتهم من خلال باقةٍ من البرامج المتنوعة، مثل الدبلوم الإلكتروني لإدارة الأعمال والبرنامج التثقيفي للشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة، وغيرها الكثير.

وفي الوقت ذاته، تهدف المنظمة العالمية للمناطق الحرة إلى تعزيز تعاونها مع الاتحاد الدولي للنقل البري من أجل مساعدته على تحقيق هدفه في تحسين مستويات الاستدامة عبر أسطوله من المركبات، كما تُسهم فرقة العمل في تعزيز مساعي شركات النقل والخدمات اللوجستية العابرة للحدود في الامتثال لمؤشر ازدهار من أجل رسم ملامح قطاع نقل أخضر وآمن ومنسجم مع أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة.

وفي هذا الإطار، قال خوسيه كونتريراس: “تناول الاجتماع عدداً من النقاط المهمة، وأتطلع للاطلاع على هذه النتائج بينما نعمل على تلبية احتياجات الأطراف المعنية والشركاء على حدّ سواء. وسنُواصل العمل مع مختلف المنظمات بهدف منح أعضاء منظمتنا فرصةً للوصول إلى التجارب والخدمات والشبكات العالمية، فضلاً عن ضمان قُدرتهم على الإسهام في تطوير الدول المُضيفة”.

وعملت المنظمة العالمية للمناطق الحرة على مدى أعوام طويلة مع مجموعةٍ متنوعة من المنظمات وغيرها من الأطراف المعنية لتطوير الحلول والتشريعات والأدوات الخاصة بالمناطق الحرة في مختلف أنحاء العالم، وضمان حماية حركة التجارة الدولية من الأنشطة غير المشروعة.

RELATED NEWS

اشترك للحصول على نشرتنا الاخباريه

Don't miss new updates on your email
القائمة
Business setup in Dubai airport free zone
×